Art of Questioning — A Few Good Men

Capt. Ross:
I have here the Marine Corps Outline for Recruit Training. I’d like you to turn to the chapter on “code reds”.

Cpl. Barnes:
Well, you see, sir, “code red” is a term we use, just down in Gitmo…

Capt. Ross:
Oh, then, we’re in luck. Marching Orders/Standard Operating Procedure, Rifle Security Company, Guatanamo Bay, Cuba. I’m sure we’ll find it in there.

Cpl. Barnes:
You won’t find it in there, either, sir.

Capt. Ross:
Cpl. Barnes, I’m a Marine. You mean to tell me there’s no manual, no set of instructions that tells me, as a Marine, one of my duties is to perform “code reds?”

Cpl. Barnes:
No, sir. No book, sir.

Capt. Ross:
No further questions.

Kaffee:
Cpl. Barnes, turn to the page in this book that tells me how to get to the mess hall.

Cpl. Barnes:
Lt. Kaffee, that’s not in the book, sir.

Kaffee:
You mean the whole time you’ve been at Gitmo, you’ve never had a meal?

Cpl. Barnes:
No, sir. Three squares a day, sir.

Kaffee:
Then how did you find the mess hall if it wasn’t in this book?

Cpl. Barnes:
Well, sir, like everybody else, I just followed the crowd at chow time, sir.

Kaffee:
No more questions.

Leave a Reply

